

## **2017 ASPHER General Assembly**

Wednesday, May 31st, 10:30-17:00 Venue: EHESP School of Public Health, Rennes, France

### **MINUTES**

#### 1. Opening of the meeting

Meeting opened by Jacqueline Müller-Nordhorn. She paid thanks to the host School and its staff that helped organise the event; thanks also to ASPHER Secretariat.

#### 2. Approval of agenda

Agenda approved unanimously.

#### 3. Approval of minutes from the 2016 ASPHER General Assembly

Minutes approved unanimously.

#### 4. Acceptance of new members

*Giagkos Lavranos* presented the application of the Public Health Programme, European University Cyprus. <u>Application approved unanimously</u>.

*Hamzeh Al Zabadi* presented the Public Health Department, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, An-Najah National University. <u>Application approved unanimously</u>.

*Alena Petrakova* presented the application of the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry, Palacký University Olomouc. <u>Application approved unanimously</u>.

*Christine Hill* presented the application of the Institute of Public Health, Cambridge University, United Kingdom. <u>Application approved unanimously</u>.

*Jo Ivey Boufford* presented the application of the New York Academy of Medicine, New York, United States. <u>Application approved unanimously</u>.

# 5. Report from Treasurer, President and Secretariat including update on the ASPHER 2020 agenda implementation

*Laurent Chamabud* presented an overview of the ASPHER accounts 2016-2017 and the projection 2018. *Jacqueline Müller-Nordhorn* presented the presidential report and *Robert Otok* provided an update from the Secretariat side. Also, the following delegates presented short progress reports on the ASPHER 2020 implementation: *Kasia Czabanowska* (Objective 1), *Henrique Barros* (Objective 2), *Anders Foldspang* (Objective 3), *Robert Buckingham* (Objective 4), *Robert Otok* (Objective 5).

The reports of the Treasurer, President and Secretariat, including the update on the ASPHER 2020 agenda implementation were approved unanimously.

#### 6. Report of the Honours' Committee

*Anders Foldspang* presented the report: (i) Election of Professor *José M. Martin-Moreno* as Co-Chair of the Honours Committee, (ii) addition of Chief Editor *Richard Horton*, The Lancet, to the Honours Committee as the Andrija Stampar Medallist of 2016, (iii) meeting of 12th February, 2017, with WHO Regional Director, Dr. Zsuzsanna Jakab, and (v) Honours' Committee Ambassador visits.

The report of the Honours' Committee was approved unanimously.

#### 7. Elections of Executive Board members 2017-2020

*Henrique Barros,* Institute of Public Health, University of Porto, Portugal. Nominated by Berlin SPH and Maastricht SPH.

The candidate was voted by acclamation and joined the board for 2017-2020 term.

#### 8. Elections of President-Elect 2017-2019: Candidates' manifestos

*Jacqueline Müller-Nordhorn* thanked the ASPHER members and ASPHER Secretariat for their support and commitment during the period 2015-2017 and handed over the presidency to *Kasia Czabanowska*.

*Kasia Czabanowska* thanked *Jacqueline Müller-Nordhorn* and gave a presidential address, stressing the importance of: (i) Collaboration and inclusion, (ii) Creating a performanceenhancing culture, and (iii) Accountability and responsibility during her mandate.

#### 9. Short reports

*Anders Foldspang* reported on behalf of EPHRF; seven special expert groups have been established to support the EPHRF Council in the work on the 5<sup>th</sup> edition of the ASPHER's Core Competences List of the Public Health Professional.

The report was approved unanimously.

*Julien Goodman* and *Christopher Potter* reported on behalf of APHEA.. In addition, *Jeannette de Boer* (NSPOH) and *Laurent Chambaud* (EHESP) received certificates of accreditation from APHEA.

The report was approved unanimously.

*Laurent Chambaud, Lore Leighton* and *Helen Metherell* reported on behalf of Public PHR. They called ASPHER members to support sustainable development of the journal. They briefly explained how the journal works and informed about the past, current and future thematic issues. Finally, they announced that *Fred Paccaud* (Lausanne School of Public Health) would be taking over the position of Deputy Chief Editor from *Ted Tulchinsky* (Ashkelon Academic College). They thanked *Ted Tulchinsky* for his continued and essential commitment to PHR over the years.

The report was approved unanimously.

*Anna Cichowska* presented ASPHER-WHO collaboration on behalf of WHO Europe. She invited ASPHER to take an active part in the WHO Coalition of Partners.

*Karl Ekdahl* presented on ASPHER-ECDC collaboration on behalf of ECDC. He presented the collaboration agreement between ASPHER and ECDC that was signed in 2016 and invited ASPHER members to continue collaborating closely with ECDC.

#### **10.** Communications

*Henrique Barros* announced that the new Andrija Stampar Medallist would be *Elina Hemminki* from the Finnish National Institute for Health and Welfare.

*Kasia Czabanowska* announced that the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine would be the host of the 2018 Deans' & Directors' Retreat and invited members to present their candidacies for the upcoming years.

#### **11.** Closing of the meeting

*Kasia Czabanowska* thanked all delegates for participation and officially closed the meeting.